Argh

This is what you call a good news/bad news post.

The good news: with the book handed in and school out, I can finally focus on some of the organizational stuff that we didn’t have time to do properly when we moved in last year. As you may recall, we moved August 22’ish. I spent the next few days frantically recleaning the old house so it could be shown (now that we had moved all the stuff that was hiding the dust), then unpacking the essentials of the new place, then went to Erie for a so-called writing weekend (I was so exhausted I barely moved off the sofa), then home to get ready for the new school year. We’re settled and doing just fine, but there were still many boxes never unpacked, many systems that were a function of necessity, not preference.

So the good news: we’re finally getting to it.

Over the weekend we were able to work on the shed we bought just before Christmas. It was, as you might imagine, overflowing with stuff we threw in there willy-nilly. Snow, the holidays, the final stuff from the old house – it all contributed to a “chuck it in and close your eyes” mentality. On Saturday, we finally had both the time and the dryer cooler weather necessary to cleaning it out. So we did. EVERYTHING came out. EVERYTHING got organized into piles on the yard. EVERYTHING then went either in the house or back in the shed, based on frequency of use.

YAY!

Next up: my poor office.

The problems:

  • there’s a piano in here. It was supposed to go in the playroom, but the movers couldn’t get it through the door.
  • there’s a big giant chair in here. I like it, but seriously, when do I get to use it?
  • there’s too much crap
  • there’s not enough wall space for what I want.

office rearWorst of all? I have to use this old photo from when we moved, because I can’t even take a new picture to show you what I mean, because my phone died last week (farewell, motherboard), and I’m using an old castoff from my husband and while it’s better than nothing, it’s not mine.

So that’s the bad news.

It’ll work out somehow. But if anyone has some inspiration to spare, I could surely use it.

 

Talk to me!

