Recipe Recommendation: One Pot Lo Mein

HRH had her first AP exam last week. The good news: she feels very confident about how it turned out. The better news: we don’t have to hear about it anymore 🙂 The best news: we had to have a celebratory dinner!

Her choice is always Chinese food, but we already had take-out Chinese over the weekend. No problem. Mama knows how to Pinterest.

We decided on lettuce wraps as the main course, but wanted something else alongside. Since the lettuce wraps required a fair amount of last minute prep, I wanted something I wouldn’t have to fuss with. When I found this recipe for One Pot Wonder Chicken Lo Mein, I knew I’d hit the jackpot.

There was chopping involved, of course, but it was still pretty easy. The gist of the process is this:

  • chop up your vegetables and meat (I used peppers, onions, pre-shredded carrots, and chicken)
  • toss it all in a pot along with noodles (in my case, whole wheat spaghetti), spices and seasonings, and broth.

one pot lo mein prep

  • Bring it to a boil, then simmer for about 15 minutes until most of the liquid is absorbed.

And that’s it. Oh, you need to give it a stir a couple of times, and I threw in some leftover roasted broccoli at the end because I had it on hand. But other than that, once it starts cooking, you’re golden.

one pot lo mein finished

Oh, and the taste? Awesome.

I think what I like best, other than the ease, is that it’s eminently customizable. You can use whatever vegetables, meat/tofu, or broth you have on hand. You can make it spicier or more savory. You could make it totally vegetarian or increase the amount of protein and make it a true one-pot meal. Whatever you need it to be, it can be.

All in all, it might have been the best thing to come out of that AP class.

 

Talk to me!

