25 Days of Happiness, Day 20: Compassionate Publishing Professionals

There was a lot of joy this year, an abundance of change, and also a great deal of sorrow. I didn’t discuss it in this blog, but the spring was dominated by a heartbreaking family situation that led to the loss of someone we should not have lost so soon. It meant a number of trips home to Canada for me, and when I was home, I wasn’t capable of a lot of focus or creativity.

And yes, that makes it incredibly difficult to meet deadlines.

But I am blessed to be working with some amazingly understanding and compassionate women. All I had to do was let them know what was happening, and their responses were immediate and identical: Don’t worry. We can work around this. Take the time you need, take care of yourself, and you and your family will be in my thoughts.

It was, of course, exactly what I needed to hear. I was strengthened and heartened and reminded, once again, how blessed I am to be working with these ladies.

Agent Jessica, Editor Katherine, Editor Piya – you were all a light in a time when it was desperately needed. Thank you.

Caring professionals: Happiness Day 20.

Talk to me!

