25 Days of Happiness

You don’t have to look far to know that for many folks, 2016 has been a pretty crappy year. My favorite take on it (thus far) is this incredibly crude, curse-filled retrospective from Flo and Joan. (Do NOT click on this in the company of employers. Or small children.)

That said – there have been good things. And while I don’t want to turn a blind eye to the challenges of the year, I think it’s also important to focus on some of the joys. So from now to Christmas, each day I’ll be posting something that brought me happiness this year. Some will be personal. Some will be things that were seen around the world. No matter their scope, these are the things I want to remember from this year and carry into 2017. Because I think it’s going to take a lot of happy to keep us moving forward.

And so, without further ado – 25 Days of Happiness, Day 1.

20161201_104143.jpg

I had the Santa talk with Tsarina back in the spring, but she is still clinging to some of the traditions of the season, including the NEED for her Elves and Mensch to move every day.

This is not, I confess, a total joy. It’s not the time of year when I really want to spend time thinking up mischief for dolls. But Pinterest is full of inspiration (there’s happiness in itself!). And the thing is, I love the magic. And the wonder. And the tradition. I love knowing that I’m making (or made) these memories and traditions for my family. Sometimes it drives me around the bend to keep up with it all, but once I stop grumbling long enough to let the magic seep in, I am deeply, delightfully happy.

Magic: Happiness Day 1.

Talk to me!

