Turbulence

You know what I really hate when I’m flying? Turbulence. Yes, flying is a great improvement over horse-drawn wagons, and yes, the flight attendants and other folks I’ve had to deal with are almost always kind and helpful and genuinely interested in helping the passengers. And that’s a good thing, because other than that, flying really sucks. Tiny seats, being strapped in one place, food issues, all those damned PEOPLE … It all puts me in mind of this fantabulous song by Cheryl Wheeler.

But turbulence is the worst. As it is, I have to work very hard to forget that the only thing keeping us aloft is physics (because physics and I have a rather torturous relationship, and I fly in fear that one day physics will get in a snit over my refusal to understand it, and it will decide to let me fall to the ground purely out of spite). But toss in some lovely turbulence – let our flying tin can start doing the jitterbug – and I really get freaked. I don’t want to be shaken OR stirred while flying, thank you very much, and if Mr. Bond feels otherwise, he can fly his own damned plane.

The same thing goes with everyday life.I’m a big fan of the known, the familiar, the comfortable. If history had been depending on me to colonize the new world, sorry folks, we’d all still be crowded in the hills of Scotland.

But here at Casa Chaos, we’ve hit some turbulence. Oh, nothing huge or medical, nothing truly major, and it will probably all turn out to be quite wonderful in the end. Right now, however, we’re in the bumpy stage. There’s never a good time for that. Add in the fact that I have a book due in – um – one week, and you can understand why I’m kind of perched at the edge of my seat, watching for the flight attendant to bring me some of those cute little mini bottles.

It will all be good. It will all get done. It’s just going to be a little shaky for a while. And there may be long periods of radio silence while I focus on steering. But for now, fasten your seat belts and pray your luggage arrives intact.

Me, I’m practicing my bagpipes for a while.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Turbulence

  1. I hope the turbulence calms soon. You did, however, have me laughing out loud with the following: “I’m a big fan of the known, the familiar, the comfortable. If history had been depending on me to colonize the new world, sorry folks, we’d all still be crowded in the hills of Scotland.” Love it (and I am the same)! 🙂

Talk to me!

