The Other Deck

Have I mentioned that we have two decks?
When we moved into this house, there was only the one deck, the lower one. It was big and roomy, with those awesome built-in benches and even an electrical outlet, but it opens off the room I had claimed for my office.

lower deckThis is very handy when I want to zip out there in the middle of the workday to hang laundry or do some serious Glider Plotting, but for eating on the deck, it’s less than ideal. (The kitchen is two rooms over and three step up from my office.) So when we bought the house, one of the first tasks on our Must Do list was to build an upper deck off the kitchen.
We use the upper deck the most, obviously. It’s a great place to eat outside. But there’s something so soothing about the lower deck. One of the best perks of working at home is being able to throw open the sliding doors from my office and step out to the glider. With a latte at my side, notebook or alphasmart on my lap, and the gentle sway of the glider beneath my butt, it makes a perfect summer office.
And the bonus? If I happen to feel ambitious and hang my laundry …

sheets 1Nobody can find me 🙂
hidden glider

Talk to me!

