Most Awesome Lemon Bars

HRH had her end-of-year cello recital this weekend. Am I being a braggypants mom if I say that she did a great job? Tough. She did a GREAT job, stayed calm and focused, and remembered to acknowledge the accompanist when she was done. And did I mention she played with beautiful tone? And that she hit every note?
Yeah. Braggypants.
There was a reception after the recital, and because it was her day, I let her pick what we should bring. She chose these Bake Sale Lemon Bars. Can’t say I blame her.

lemon bard 2These bars are tart and lemony and light – a perfect summertime treat.
I used the changes mentioned in one of the reviews: 6 eggs instead of three, 1 3/4 cup white sugar (vs 1 1/2), 6 tbsp flour (vs 3), and a full cup of lemon juice (as opposed to 1/4). I actually had a bunch of lemons in the house so I squeezed the bejesus out of those babies. Bottled lemon juice works, and they are still mega yum, but if you can do fresh, do it. It does make a difference.

lemon bars 1
These take a little more time than the Peanut Butter Bars I would have chosen, but on the other hand, there are times when you just need something fresh and bright and lemony. When that happens, these seriously fit the bill.

Talk to me!

