Slow Cooker Sticky Chicken Wings

I usually like cooking, especially when I have the time to focus on it, but in the summer? Not so much. It’s too hot to eat any of my favorite foods, turning the oven on is just adding insult to injury, and grilling – while fun – mostly emphasizes a Hunk of Meat. I am a fan of Little Bits of Meat mixed with pasta or veggies or rice. Hunks of Meat make my nose wrinkle.

That said, this recipe for Slow Cooker Sticky Chicken Wings actually works as part of the summer rotation. It was easy. I didn’t require an oven. Wings aren’t really Hunks. It DID make a mess of the grill, but I think that could be avoided with better planning. Oh, and the wings were yummy!

wings 1

Okay, so they’re not so enticing when they’re raw …

Here’s the deal. I made the sauce as printed and threw it into the crock pot with the wings, gave it all a stir, and walked away. A couple of hours later the smell filled the house. When it came time to thicken the sauce, I found I needed more cornstarch than called for – probably double. But sure enough, by doing that I ended up with a lovely, thick sauce that clung to the wings like spilled Cheetos to a shag rug.

We weren’t eating for a while, so I stuck the crock pot in the fridge until dinner. When it was almost time to eat, we fired up the grill and tossed the wings on to heat and get a little crispy. In retrospect, it would have been a good idea to oil the grate first, or do the final touch under the broiler on a foil-lined pan. Next time.

I didn’t get a shot of the finished wings, but they looked very much like the ones on the recipe page. (Translation: they looked delish.) Ehy were very flavorful, very tender, and very easy. Even with the mess of the grill, I would definitely make these babies again!

Talk to me!

