Meals on Monday: Cauliflower Pizza Crust

I was planning to make pizza the other night, and I’d been hearing about folks making a crust out of cauliflower. Intriguing, right? It sounded like an easy and yummy way to get some more vegetables into the old meal rotation.

Then I thought about the other members of the family. Specifically, Hubs. He’s a man who likes to try new things, but once he’s decided he likes them, he doesn’t want them changed. The meatloaf must always have ketchup on top, the coleslaw must always have the creamy dressing, and the pizza must always be regular onions-peppers-sauce-and-cheese on dough. So when I looked into the fridge and saw there was some roasted cauliflower left from the other night, I decided to give the alternative crust a trial run for my lunch.

I used this recipe, cutting it down to allow for my having only a cup or so of cauliflower. The ingredients were assembled:

pizza 1And then tossed into the food processor for a whirl.

pizza 2When it was all pulsed together, I dumped it onto a piece of parchment paper:

pizza 3and shaped it into a pizza crust.

pizza 4It went into the hot oven for 10 minutes, emerging all hot and fragrant.

pizza 5I topped it with sauce and cheese and sent it back to the oven for a few more minutes. The final product:

pizza 6Yep. It looked like pizza. It smelled like pizza. But the true test was the taste. After I sliced it up and had a bite, the answer was clear.

It was good. But it wasn’t pizza.

Don’t get me wrong: I liked it. It was cheesy and yummy, and it was no sacrifice to chow down. But even though I liked it, the truth was impossible to deny. If I were to give this to the husband, I would get the same response as I did the time I made a vegetable curry: a poke of the fork, a tentative bite, and then a sad little voice asking if I was mad at him.

Final verdict: I would make this again for myself. But I don’t think the family – at least, not the husband – will be ready for it for a while.

Talk to me!

