Casa Chaos Update – March Edition

A couple of quick housekeeping notes:

1. I will post a snow mountain update at the end of the week.

B. Tomorrow, April 1, we may have a number of guests popping into the blog as part of an event I’m participating in. You’ll see more tomorrow. Meanwhile, please make sure your rooms are clean, and if someone could help tidy up the living room, I’d be most grateful.

I must confess, there were times when I thought March would never end. Some of this feeling was due to the never-ending winter, but much of it was also due to a writing challenge I was doing with my RWA chapter – our version of March Madness, in which folks pledged to write for at least 10 minutes or 100 words every day of the month.

march madnessNow, on paper that doesn’t sound like much. But that meant that every single day, even on weekends or while at Disney or in the middle of house and home stuff, I had to set aside time to get my words in. And since I was the challenge coordinator, it meant I also had to come up with some inspiring/motivating messages and quotes to send out every day. By the end of last week I was really starting to wish we had done this in, say, February 🙂 But today wraps it up and it was a great success. Once we all take a day off, I think folks will be very very proud of what they’ve accomplished.

Other than that, March was pretty much business as usual here at Casa Chaos. Tsarina’s school had their annual gymnastics program, when parents come in during gym to spot the kids on equipment. That kept me hopping but the kids totally love it. Other than Disney, we didn’t have any trips (yay – I love being home), and the snowstorms/deep cold finally let up so the snow days & delays came to an end. There’s still enough snow on the ground that the kids had to wear boots for the community Easter egg hunt this past weekend, but the geese are coming back and people are beginning to see robins.

We’re making summer plans – picking out camps, registering for playground programs, lining up jobs – and looking ahead. The girls have the first week of April off so we’ll get to ease into the month. Wish us luck!

What I’m Reading This Month:

morrieI’m way behind the times, but I finally read Tuesdays With Morrie. It was one of those deceptively easy reads that will linger in my memory for a long time.

What I’m Listening To:

The first time I heard Girl Crush by Little Big Town, I thought, wow, this is a great song. Too bad there’s going to be a lot of folks who listen to the first bit and immediately start screaming (and not in a good way). Turns out I was right on both counts. Sigh. Sometimes, it would be nice to be wrong, you know?

For the record, the song is NOT about a woman lusting after another woman. But even if it was, so what? Would the world stop spinning because a woman sang a song about loving another woman? I don’t think so. True love is a good thing, folks. We need a whole heck of a lot more of it. Maybe if we spent more time celebrating it, in its many shapes and forms, we’d have a whole lot less hurt and sorrow.

So you go, Little Big Town. Sing your song with pride.

Talk to me!

