Meals on Monday: Sweet Noodle Kugel

This is one of Tsarina’s favorites, though she can never remember what it’s called. (“Mom, can you make that Jewish macaroni and cheese?”)

kugel 1I never heard of noodle kugel until I met Hubs, and at first I wasn’t sure about it. I mean – a macaroni and cheese-ish dish that wasn’t orange? But once I gave it a try, I saw how wrong I’d been. Kugel can be sweet or savory. It can contain raisins, pineapple, or no fruit at all. You can top it with sour cream, applesauce, both, or none. It’s a versatile, creamy/crunchy dish that you can dress up or down and tweak in any number of ways.

kugelThe recipe I use comes from a cookbook that is (out of print), and I can’t find it online. However, this one comes very close. If you cut the sour cream to 1 cup and add 1 cup shredded cheddar, you’ll have a very reasonable facsimile 🙂

Next time you’re thinking of mac & cheese, give noodle kugel a shot. And enjoy.

Talk to me!

