Meals on Monday: Polenta With Roasted Veggies

I don’t know if this can really be called a recipe, as it’s just something that I threw together for my lunch. But it was so good that I want to share it, if only so I don;t forget to make it again!

veggies polenta

Here’s the deal. Last night I roasted a motherload of veggies – sweet potatoes, beets, red potatoes, parsnips, red onions, white onions. I didn’t do anything fancy, just chopped them, tossed with a little melted butter/salt/pepper, and roasted at 425 F/220 C for about 45 minutes, stirring them once or twice. They were delicious.

Today at lunch, I grabbed a tube of polenta from the fridge, cut myself a couple of slices, and diced them. I melted a bit more butter in a skillet and added the polenta, cooking at a fairly high heat to get the outsides of the cubes toasty and brown. Then I added a couple of big spoonfuls of the roasted veggies and stirred it all around until it was hot. A sprinkle of shredded Asiago cheese, and that was lunch.

veggies & polentaAnd a very fine lunch it was, too.

Talk to me!

