Mealtime Mondays: Dip Is The Word

Okay, I am still ticked that once again Weird Al was passed over for the Super Bowl half time show, but lucky for those NFL people, we had some rocking yummies to console me in my hour of indignation.

I wasn’t expecting to do a SB spread this year. Hubs and HRH had bussed down to NYC for the weekend, to take in a couple of musicals and feast on corned beef and cheesecake.They didn’t plan to be home until Sunday just before bedtime. I figured Tsarina and I would veg on the sofa, eat leftover pizza, and make fun of the commercials.

Then the forecast changed. A winter storm was moving in, and it was going to hit Pennsylvania before it got to us – meaning that their bus could be going through the Poconos in some nasty weather. None of us were terribly excited about that prospect, so Hubs made a command decision and hopped an earlier bus. They beat the storm and I had an excuse to mix up two of our favorite dips. Because isn’t there a law that you must eat dip during the Super Bowl?

popper dipFirst, by Tsarina’s request: Jalapeno Popper Spread. How much does my family love this stuff? I think all my boys ensured they would always have friends in college by making this for parties. It’s easy to adjust the heat level to your taste – just add more or fewer jalapenos – and it’s creamy and gooey and totally addictive. You have been warned.

Next up was my personal favorite, Corn and Black Bean Salsa. There are aboutcorn and black bean salsa two million different variations of this (seriously – Google showed 1.9 million results), but this is my version, and I love it, and I will happily make a whole meal of just this. With chips, of course. Because, hey. Tortilla chips. Need I say more?

(I don’t have a lot of precise measurements. Use the Force and your own tastebuds to guide you.)

Mix 1 can of black beans (drained) with 1 can of niblet corn, also drained. Or use frozen corn, or fire-roasted fresh if you have it, but this is JANUARY, people. As long as you have about the same amount of corn and black beans, you’re good. Now add some chopped red onion, finely diced red pepper, 2 or 3 cloves of garlic (minced), fresh ground pepper, as much fresh chopped cilantro as you like (I like a ton, but if you are cilantro-gene-challenged, leave it out. And I’m sorry.). Then pour on some Newman’s Own Lite Lime Vinaigrette. This stuff is getting harder and harder to find, and I may need to start stockpiling it in the boys’ bedrooms, but if all else fails, it’s available on Amazon. You can use lime juice and oil and whatever else if necessary, but this is the way I like it, and it’s my recipe, so I get to make the rules for this one. Trust me. It makes all the difference in this salsa.

Now, never fear. We did have some real food with these. But honestly? These dips are the whole reason for the Super Bowl.

Enjoy.

Talk to me!

