From the Desk of Moxie North – January 2015

The first in what will be a series of letters from my character Moxie North, CEO of Northstar Dairy and matriarch of the North family, to her friends Iris Delaney and Ruth Brewster, who moved from Comeback Cove to be near Iris’ son J.T. and his new wife, Ruth’s daughter-in-law Lyddie.

Dear Iris and Ruth:

Well, you’ve both been gone from Comeback Cove for over a year now, so I guess it’s time I faced facts. You’re not coming back. Least you could have done was move someplace warm where it would have been fun to visit you in the middle of January, but no, you had to go Ottawa. I know it’s only an hour or so away but in the middle of January, that’s a mighty cold drive. You’re just going to have to make do with letters for now.

I hope you had a good Christmas. Being as it was your first one there, I’m sure things felt different, but with Lyddie’s children there, I’m betting it wasn’t exactly somber. Does little Tish still believe in Santa? Hank’s Millie does, but she was asking questions that made me think this might be our last year with a believer. Course, if any of my other grandsons would get it in gear and give me more greats, we could keep on with the fun, but nothing so far. Hank and Brynn have been together over a year now, and I know she would like to have two or three, so I’m hoping to hear some news from them soon. Carter and Taylor, too, though as you know, that will be a little stickier. No matter how happy we’ll all be for them when the time comes, we’ll still be worried about how Ian will take the news. Much as I know it was right for Taylor to break up with Ian, sometimes I can’t help but wish she’d fallen for anyone else but his own brother.

Ah well. Water under the bridge, as they say, and if wishes were horses I could run my own Kentucky Derby. Ian seems to be doing okay down there in Stratford. I wish he’d come home, but that’s not my call to make. As for Cash – I can’t get a reading on him. He plays life close to his chest, that one.

In any case, we’re all doing fine, though I’m not as tolerant of the snow these days. The town was busy over Christmas. Mayor Jillian got some new lights to put up around Memorial Park, and it sure was pretty to walk through, ‘cept for the nights when the wind came over the river colder than a witch’s – well. You lived here. You know.

Helene finally signed up to take that Alaska cruise. She’s been dithering about it for weeks, trying to get me to go with her, but I told her the reason we’ve been able to stay best friends all these years is because we’ve never had to share a bathroom. I’m not about to change that now. I tried to talk Janice and Robert into going, but that son of mine is a homebody, for sure. Janice seemed interested but it’s in June and I think she’s cooking up some hare-brained scheme to try to get Ian home then. She hasn’t said anything, but it’s easy to see she’s got something brewing.

Northstar is rolling along fine and dandy. I thought I’d never learn to like that Greek yogurt we started making, but I found out if you stir enough blackberry jam into it, it’s pretty good.

Helene said for me to tell you that the the United church is having a chicken dinner next month, and there will be a craft show along with it. You should come down for it. You could stay here. Lord knows there’s plenty of room. She said if you can’t come, maybe you could make some of those crocheted scarves that sold so well last year. I told her you both have new churches now, but she just laughed and told me you would always be part of Comeback Cove. She’s probably right, but don’t tell her I said that.

Got to go. Miss you both.

Love,

Moxie

Talk to me!

