Casa Chaos Update – the Post-October Edition

October has been my favorite month for as long as I can remember, and the one we were just blessed with was a beauty. I love the brilliant blue of the sky, the nip in the air, the leaves so bright and shining, the fact that there are hardly any school holidays so I can actually get things done … Yes. It’s a bonus month, for sure.

So what did we do last month? In my writing life, there was considerable time spent on some secondary projects until my revision letter arrived. Now it’s all revisions, all the time, but that’s a good thing. Focus! Guidance! Massive brain-bursting insights!

poutineWe stuck fairly close to home in October, with the exception of a wonderful trip to Boston to celebrate Columbus Day/Canadian Thanksgiving with our crew there. The girls and I spent one afternoon at the Lego Discovery World there, immersing ourselves in a delightful afternoon of Lego rides, movies, games, and the amazing mini-Lego-Boston.Then the Geek & Geekess hosted a truly amazing Thanksgiving dinner. complete with maple-grilled turkey, Tim Hortons Doughnut Bread Pudding and – you guessed it – POUTINE! It was a joy to see them, the Mensch, and some additional family members who journeyed in for the event.

The Geek’s birthday is in October. This was a big one: not only did her get older, but I marked my 25th anniversary as a mother. I have now started to refer to myself as a Silver Mama. Doesn’t that sound cool?

And of course, there was Halloween, complete with a last-minute costume change for Tsarina. She was all TMNTset to be some Transformer character, and wore that costume to school & other events, but on Halloween we received a package from Maestro and the Saint. It contained candy, Halloween socks, and the most awesome Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle mask. There was no way we could leave that unused, so with some help from some cardboard and construction paper, we created a zippity-zip new costume:

November promises to be very busy. Fingers crossed that it all goes according to plan!

 What I’m Reading This Month:

cupcakeMeet Me at The Cupcake Cafe, by Jenny Colgan.

What I’m Cooking:

Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup. (But being somewhat pressed for time due to those deadlines, I confess, I use peppers & tomatoes from jars & cans. It’s still delicious.)

What I’m Singing:

Talk to me!

