It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like: Holiday Letters

Christmas letters get a bad rap. Maybe they’re not as essential in the age of Facebook (I do love how easy it is to keep up with folks that way), but (a) not everyone is on Facebook/Google Plus/The Next Great Place, and (b) in the middle of all the holiday busy-ness, I love taking a minute to sit down and read about what folks have been doing. Those moments when I catch up with old friends, even just on paper, are one of my favorite parts of the holiday season.
But there’s no denying that doing letters – writing, printing, addressing, mailing – take both time and money. The last couple of years, I’ve tried to cut down on the time investment by using cards that feature a Family Top Ten, Highlights of the Year, things like that. I liked it. However, I was told in no uncertain terms, by more than one person, that this wasn’t acceptable. They wanted a real letter, dagnabbit!
So this year I’m doing it old-school. I started this year’s letter in – wait for it – January. Each month (or so), I add an update – one quick paragraph about what we’ve been doing. It keeps the time investment down and makes it easier to include all the fun stuff.
Another way I’ve handled the letter is to have each kid write their own update, highlighting what they’re doing and what’s important to them. Then all I need to do is put them together. That’s a lot of fun. Interesting, too, to see where they choose to focus. It’s rarely what I would have chosen, but it’s always interesting.
When we get closer to the holidays, I’ll add some pictures and hit PRINT. The addressing and stuffing and stamping will still need to be done, but those are easily combined with a viewing of Love, Actually.
Oh – and if regular Christmas letters make you gag, check out these winners!

Talk to me!

