It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like ….

Don’t hate me. We’re going to talk about the C word.
I know – it’s not even Thanksgiving (Canadian or American) or Halloween. It’s too soon. We need to enjoy autumn (if we’re in it) and indulge in all things pumpkin and look forward to adorable ghosties and witches ringing our bells.
All this is true.
However, over the years I have found that if I start making some Christmas preparations now, I can enjoy things a lot more come December. So for the rest of this month, Not-So-Manic Mondays will focus on Christmas.
Breathe. I promise this won’t be overwhelming.
I love Christmas, and we enjoy it to the hilt here at Casa Chaos. Yes, half the family is Jewish. Doesn’t matter. We have some pretty special celebrations for Rosh Hashanah/Passover/Hanukkah as well, but (a) the husband is mostly in charge of those, and (b) they tend to abide by that great motto of all Jewish holidays: “They tried to kill us. They couldn’t. Let’s eat.”
Christmas is a whole other animal, one that can easily take over our lives in December. Being caught up in the spirit and the joy of the season is good. Being overwhelmed with seasonal tasks and activities is not. I don’t know about you, but I want to wake up on Christmas with a spirit of gratitude, not one of relief. Does that always happen? Heck no. But am I getting closer? Yeah. I think I am.
For me, step one – as it always is – is to make a plan. Mine starts in October. I review and tweak it each year after Christmas, to keep up with the way the family is growing and changing.
My plan includes things like:
• When I’ll write the Christmas letter
• When to order/address/send the Christmas cards
• When to bake cookies
• When to get the tree
• When to decorate
• What meals we will eat on Christmas Eve/Day
• When to ask the family for their Wish Lists.
I’ll talk in depth about some of those items over the rest of the month. But I would suggest that if you celebrate Christmas, you take a few minutes one night this week to rough out a plan of your own. It might feel silly or like you’re jumping the gun, but trust me – it can make a world of difference.

There. You got through the post. Have some Michael Buble.

Talk to me!

