Not-So-Manic Mondays: Sabbath in the Suburbs

I had already been doing Cozy Nights and Sunday mornings for a while when the moderator on the Harlequin Community Superromance board mentioned a book called Sabbath in the Suburbs. Intrigued, I downloaded a sample, then quickly bought the whole book, reading almost all of it in one day. (Last time that happened was with the DaVinci Code. So, yeah. Been a while.)
sabbath in the suburbsIn the book, MaryAnn McKibben Dana chronicles her family’s year-long experiment in keeping a Sabbath – one day of the week without a to-do ist, when they deliberately slowed down and focused on resting, refreshing, and enriching. And before anyone says impossible, let me point out that this is a family that juggles two jobs and three kids under the age of ten.
McKibben Dana is a pastor and her motivation was as spiritual as it was practical, but there’s nothing preachy or proselytizing about the book. Nor do you need to be a person of faith to recognize that anyone can benefit from having one day set aside for quiet and letting go.
My efforts at creating more of a Sabbath feeling have been more modest, and not always as successful, but I have taken some steps. I try to avoid turning on my computer on Sundays. I’ll read email on my phone, but rarely respond. Writing doesn’t really happen. I do all the usual chores – cook the meals, wash the dishes, throw in a load of laundry – and now that the weather is nice, there’s usually a serious attack on the weeds out in the gardens. But I try to move a little more slowly, be a little more mindful, and be a bit quicker to stop and cuddle the Tsarina or simply sit in the glider for a few minutes.  It helps my Mondays less manic, and my Sundays a lot more restful.

Talk to me!

