Not-So-Manic Mondays: Sunday Mornings, SlowingDown

When I talked about our Sunday evening Cozy Nights, I mentioned that those were for the whole family. There’s another piece to my attempts at a soothing Sunday, and that’s Sunday mornings. Sunday mornings, all alone.
Look, I’m as fond of sleeping in as the next mom. There are days when nothing in the world could matter as much as getting a bit of extra shut-eye. But I have found that when I sleep until a kid wakes me, I spend the rest of the day feeling like I’m being engulfed by a very loving but needy octopus. Waking to the sight of a face in your face and the words “I need a pancake NOW” is just not my favorite way to start the day.
Sunday

I don’t set the alarm for Sunday morning, but if I wake while the rest of the family is asleep, I don’t linger in bed. I get up, do the morning routine, do yoga, and then have quiet time. Just me, some candles, a notebook for jotting my thoughts, maybe some soft music. I curl up in a cozy chair and light the candles and sip my iced latte while letting my mind wander. Sometimes a solution to a book problem or something other useful thought will pop into my head, and I jot it down before I forget it. I don’t push myself to come up with stuff – just stay open to anything that might appear, and give thanks when it does. It’s unhurried and peaceful, a lovely oasis of slow in a life of fast and hurry – one of my favorite ways to build toward a Not-So-Manic Monday.

 

Talk to me!

